activation
Installation
PGP
Robo-FTP
Robo-FTP Server

Frequently Asked Questions

The FAQ list is a great starting point for basic questions about what you can do with Robo-FTP.

Orange_arrowOrange_arrow Browse the FAQ list now

Getting Started

Browse these tutorials and sample scripts to get up and running with Robo-FTP in minutes.

Orange_arrowOrange_arrow Browse tutorials and samples now

Contact Technical Support

If you can't find the answers you need online, get in touch with our Technical Support staff.

Orange_arrowOrange_arrow Contact Technical Support now

Professional Services

Need more than basic technical support? Our Professional Services team can help you deploy a complete solution.

Orange_arrowOrange_arrow Contact Professional Services now

Enter search queries below or use the tag links to the right to browse the knowledge base by category (Show All Tags).


The setup must update files or services that cannot be updated whille the system is running.

When updating an installation of Robo-FTP you may see this message:

The setup must update files or services that cannot be updated while the system is running. If you choose to contine, a reboot will be required to complete the setup.

This message occurs when applications executing in another session have files installed by Robo-FTP open. This usually means one or more executables installed by Robo-FTP is running in another session.

There is no easy way to be certain what those files are. However you can take some steps to minimize your risk of this happening. You can make sure there are no instances of Robo-FTP executables running in other sessions. Some examples of Robo-FTP installed EXEs running in other sessions would be:

  1. Do you have Robo-FTP installed as a service? If so, stop the service and try again.
  2. Is Robo-FTP being run by an external scheduler such as the Windows Task Scheduler? If so, temporarily disable the task so that it won't start during the installation.
  3. Is somebody else logged in and running the Configurator? Have that person log out or exit the Configurator.

There is no guaranteed way to avoid this message, but these instructions may help you bypass it.

Article last updated: 2014-07-03

Tags: Installation

Home | Solutions | Professional Services | Technical Support | Download | Company | Contact Us | Partners | Site Map | Terms of Service | Privacy Policy |