activation
Installation
PGP
Robo-FTP
Robo-FTP Server

Frequently Asked Questions

The FAQ list is a great starting point for basic questions about what you can do with Robo-FTP.

Orange_arrowOrange_arrow Browse the FAQ list now

Getting Started

Browse these tutorials and sample scripts to get up and running with Robo-FTP in minutes.

Orange_arrowOrange_arrow Browse tutorials and samples now

Contact Technical Support

If you can't find the answers you need online, get in touch with our Technical Support staff.

Orange_arrowOrange_arrow Contact Technical Support now

Professional Services

Need more than basic technical support? Our Professional Services team can help you deploy a complete solution.

Orange_arrowOrange_arrow Contact Professional Services now

Enter search queries below or use the tag links to the right to browse the knowledge base by category (Show All Tags).


How to upgrade Robo-FTP from a previous version

Upgrading to Robo-FTP 3.5.x or ealier

If you are upgrading from a version older than 3.5.x to version 3.5.x please contact support.

Upgrading to Robo-FTP 3.6.x

You can upgrade to Robo-FTP 3.6.x by simply installing the newer version "over-the-top" of the older version. Robo-FTP will upgrade the relevant files in place and automatically import the settings from the older version.

It is always a good idea to back up your settings (export them from the File menu in the Robo-FTP console window) and the Robo-FTP installation directory (C:\Program Files\Robo-FTP for most customers). For example, there is a known issue for customers upgrading from v3.2.0 to a later version where the existing crontab.txt file is overwritten and after the upgrade must be restored from the backup. This issue, or similar issues, may exist with other versions and may not have yet been reported.

IMPORTANT: Exit all running instances of Robo-FTP.exe and stop all Robo-FTP services before attempting to upgrade and activate Robo-FTP.

If you are performing a major upgrade (for example: 3.5 to 3.6 or 2.x to 3.x) then you will need to re-activate the license after upgrading as described below. If you are performing a minor upgrade (for example: 3.6.10 to 3.6.17) then you will not need to re-activate the license after upgrading.

During the upgrade process, Robo-FTP will remove the license activation on the older version and start a 30-day fully functional eval license for the newer version.

It will also attempt to notify our license server over the Internet that the old license has been removed.

You should then be able to launch the Robo-FTP main console window and activate the license from the Help menu.

If during the upgrade Robo-FTP was unable to notify our license server that it had removed the old license, you will receive an error message indicating that your license has been previously activated and Robo-FTP will present a form requesting more informtion.

If this happens, complete the form and describe what you are doing (upgrading from an older version).

You should receive an email that indicates your request has been approved. You should then be able to activate the new version of the software from the Help menu.

Upgrading to Robo-FTP 3.7.x or later

By default, Robo-FTP 3.7.x and later install "side-by-side" with previous major version releases and "over-the-top" of same version releases. Version 3.8.1, for example, installed side-by-side with 3.7.13 and 3.6.17 but over the top of 3.8.0. See the Migration Guide document on the download page of Robo-FTP.com for complete upgrade instructions.

See also:

Activating a license

Moving Robo-FTP installation to another computer

Article last updated: 2016-11-25

Tags: activation, Upgrade

Home | Solutions | Professional Services | Technical Support | Download | Company | Contact Us | Partners | Site Map | Terms of Service | Privacy Policy |