Call now to talk to an automation expert — (512) 345-2211

Knowledge Base

Enter search queries below or use the tag links to the right to browse the knowledge base by category (Show All Tags).


How do I export my settings to a new machine running Robo-FTP?

Robo-FTP 3.6 and later

Users of Robo-FTP 3.9 and later should consult the Help file for instructions to move settings between two machines. If you are also upgrading between versions, see the Migration Guide on the download page of Robo-FTP.com for upgrade instructions.

Robo-FTP 3.5 and earlier

These instructions apply to Robo-FTP v3.5. The steps may vary for older or newer versions. See the Help file installed with the software for details.

Note: These instructions apply when you are moving settings between two installations of Robo-FTP 3.5. If you are also moving between version of the software, the steps will be different. Please contact Technical Support for details.

Robo-FTP has a built in feature to export all your settings.

From the File menu select 'Export Settings'. If you are planning to also export your PGP key ring, you should check the 'Export PGP Passphrase'.

Save the settings to a location that can be reached from the new machine.

If you do want to export your PGP enviorment, you will need to go to the Robo-FTP home directory and copy the following three files to a location that can be reached from the new machine. (secring.gpg, pubring.gpg, and trustdb.gpg) If these files do not exist, you saved them in a separate location or you do not have a PGP environment set up on this machine.

On the new machine, select 'Import Settings', and browse to the location where you saved the settings. Look for a .set file. Go ahead and import the settings.

To import the PGP files, if applicable, paste the three PGP files you copied earlier, (secring.gpg, pubring.gpg, and trustdb.gpg) into the Robo-FTP home directory.

Note: On the initial run of Robo-FTP, you are prompted which settings you wish to run. If you wish to share or allow others to use these settings, you must select 'Use the All user Settings'. In addition, all other users who are going to share these settings must also choose 'Use the All User Settings' upon initial run.

Article last updated: 2017-08-02

Tags: Export, settings, Robo-FTP, PGP, new computer, new machine

Need help figuring out where to start?

Our sales staff is available to answer product questions and help you determine if Robo-FTP is a good match for your project.

Call Now: (512) 345-2211