Call now to talk to an automation expert — (512) 345-2211

Knowledge Base

Enter search queries below or use the tag links to the right to browse the knowledge base by category (Show All Tags).


Robo-FTP can only run with administrator privileges (Robo-FTP 3.5 and previous only)

In earlier versions, the settings for Robo-FTP are saved in the Windows registry under HKEY_ CURRENT_ USER. So, only the user that installed Robo-FTP -- often the system administrator -- can run it.

Beginning with v1.50.0. you choose at installation time if you want all users on a particular PC to be able to use Robo-FTP or if you want its use restricted to the user that installed it.

With earlier versions, a simple way to handle this matter is to add the -c switch to the shortcut that launches Robo-FTP. This switch results in Robo-FTP settings being copied from HKEY_ CURRENT_ USER\Software\Robo-FTP to HKEY_ LOCAL_ MACHINE\Software\Robo-FTP before the program starts. With this done, any user on your PC can run Robo-FTP.

If you use the -c option, it's a good idea to delete the HKEY_ CURRENT_ USER\Software\Robo-FTP registry key (and all subkeys) to avoid problems later if Robo-FTP needs to be reconfigured. Use the Windows registry editor for this step.

Article last updated: 2019-04-26

Tags: Robo-FTP, Administrator

Need help figuring out where to start?

Our sales staff is available to answer product questions and help you determine if Robo-FTP is a good match for your project.

Call Now: (512) 345-2211